By NBF News
Listen to article

The president of the Football Association of Malawi has warned Nigeria not to take the Flames lightly in 2014 World Cup qualifying.

The Super Eagles are overwhelming favourites to win Group F which also features Seychelles or Kenya and Djibouti or Namibia.

But Walter Nyamilandu feels Malawi are not short on experience and have the wherewithal to give the Nigerians a run for their money.

'Nigeria are the favourites in this group but we're a team that cannot be underrated and taken for granted,' Nyamilandu said.

Nyamilandu added that the Flames made a statement a year ago when they qualified for the Africa Cup of Nations finals in Angola.

'There's a football revolution in Malawi; we're in a very good position now to qualify for Gabon and Equatorial Guinea next year.'

Although he spoke highly of the pedigree of the Super Eagles, Nyamilandu told BBC Sport that Samson Siasia's team has a major weakness.

'It's a very tricky group; we're saying we have a very good chance of flexing our muscles if we plan everything very well.'

'Although Nigeria are favourites, their away record is very bad so we're hoping they'll flip along the way and help us top the group.'

Nyamilandu made it clear that the task of reaching Brazil in 2014 is not going to be easy but backed his Flames to create history.

'We're also very ambitious and have set our sights on trying to go to the World Cup for the first time in the history of Malawi football.

'The first thing that we need to have is the belief and we have a lot of self-belief.

'We've played some tough teams in the past, and should be able to face Nigeria and take them head on.'

African Zone Draw
Group A: South Africa, Botswana, C.A. Republic, Somalia/Ethiopia

Group B: Tunisia, Cape Verde, Sierra Leone, Equatorial Guinea/Madagascar

Group C: Ivory Coast, Morocco, Gambia, Chad/Tanzania

Group D: Ghana, Zambia, Sudan, Lesotho/Burundi
Group E: Burkina Faso, Gabon, Niger, Sao Tome e Principe/Congo

Group F: Nigeria, Malawi, Seychelles/Kenya, Djibouti/Namibia

Group G: Egypt, Guinea, Zimbabwe, Comoros/Mozambique

Group H: Algeria, Mali, Benin, Eritrea/Rwanda
Group I: Cameroon, Libya, Guinea-Bissau/Togo, Swaziland/DR Congo

Group J: Senegal, Uganda, Angola, Mauritius/Liberia