TheNigerianVoice Online Radio Center

Jonathan Elevates Mary Odili, Ngwuta, Ariwoola To Supreme Court


ABUJA, May 03, (THEWILL) - President Goodluck Jonathan today forwarded the name of Justice Mary Odili, wife of former Governor of Rivers State, Dr. Peter Odili, as Justice of the Supreme Court.

Justice Odili until her nomination was a Justice of the Court of Appeal.

The President also appointed two other Appeal Court Justices; N. S. Ngwuta and O. Ariwoola to the Supreme Court.

In the new arrangement, Justice Odili will represent the South East geo-political zone in the apex court bench even though she is married to a South South person. She hails from Mbaise in Imo.

Ngwuta also represents South East whereas Ariwoola represents the South West.

In a letter to the Senate President read on the floor of the Senate today, Jonathan said their appointment was necessitated by the recent retirement from service of Justices G. A. Oguntade, J.O. Ogebe, Nikli Tobi and I.F. Ogbuagu.

Jonathan said the appointment was predicated on the constitutional requirement that gives the President powers to appoint a Justice of the Supreme Court on the recommendation of the National Judicial Council.

Also the President forwarded names of the Chairman and members of the National Hajj Commission of Nigeria (NAHCON) to the upper legislative chambers for confirmation.

The list included Mohammed M. Bello, re-appointed Chairman, Abdullahi Muktar Mohammed, new full time member, Alhaji Yusuff Adebayo Ibrahim new full time member, Sheikih Adam A. Idoko re-appointed part time member, Alhaja Fatima Oyekan re-appointed part time member and Ahmed Efebeli re-appointed part time member. Others are Sheik Musa Isa re-appointed part time member, Alhaji Ado Shinkafi re-appointed part time member and Hajiya Hannatu S. Birma, re-appointed part time member.

In addition, Jonathan sent a request to the Senate for the confirmation of the appointment of Lawal Inde Abdullahi from Katsina State as a member of the Revenue Mobilisation, Allocation and Fiscal Commission for a first term of five years.

Abdullahi’s nomination followed the resignation of the former occupant of the office.