TheNigerianVoice Online Radio Center

Incumbents Yakowa, Yuguda Emerge Winners In Kaduna, Bauchi

Source: THEWILL. -
Listen to article

SAN FRANCISCO, April 29, (THEWILL) – The incumbent Governor of Kaduna State, Mr. Patrick Yakowa and his counterpart in Bauchi State, Mallam Isa Yuguda, both candidates of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) have emerged winners of their respective governorship races conducted on Thursday, April 28, 2011 by the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC).

The contest brings to an end the 2011 general elections nationwide except for the rerun scheduled in four local government areas and a ward in Imo state.

The Returning Officer in the Kaduna election, Professor Abdullahi Mustapha, who declared the result today amidst protest from the opposition said, Yakowa polled 1,339,487 votes ahead of the candidate of the Congress for Progressive Change (CPC), Alhaji Haruna Saheed who polled 1,114,987 votes.

Similarly, in Bauchi, Returning Officer, Professor Hamisu Mohammad declared Mallam Isa Yuguda winner with 771,503 votes against Alhaji Yusuf Tugga’s (CPC) 238,426 votes.

The opposition political also protested the results alleging irregularities in the poll and refused to sign the final result sheet.