Nigerian Police Restructure … Ahead of Polls

Listen to article

As part of its commitment to ensure that all votes count and provide adequate security for the polls, Hafiz Rigim, inspector general of police, yesterday reshuffled the commissioners of police in all the thirty six states of the federation. Aside from the commissioners, the IGP also reorganized the deputy inspectors general of Police (DIG) to the six geo-political zones.

  The restructuring learnt was against the wishes of state governors, who had coerced the IG weeks prior to the redeploment to jettison the idea of changing the commissioners, noting that it might disturb security strategies for the elections in their states.  

The new placements
CP Saliu Hashimu    - Oyo State
CP Suleiman Abba- Lagos State
CP Baba Adisa Bolanta- Delta State
CP Bala Nasarawa - Cross River State
CP Michael Zuokumor- Borno State
CP Olayinka Balogun- Ogun State
CP Haruna John- Kaduna State
CP Emmanuel Ayeni,-Plateau State
CP Samson Wudah- FCT
CP Mammam Tchafe - Kwara State.
CP Tambari Yaro- Imo State
CP Sabo Ringim - Ekiti State
CP Yakubu Alkali- Rivers State
CP Musa A Daura -Adamawa State
CP Orubebe Ebikome- Edo State
CP Aliyu Musa-Taraba State
CP Sani Magaji -Benue State
CP Ibrahim Mohammed - Katsina State
CP Obiakor Emmanuel- Nasarawa State
CP Abdurahman Akano -Jigawa State
CP David Omojola- Yobe State
CP Adenrele Chinaba- Bayesa State.
CP Felix Uyana- Akwa Ibom State
CP A. J. Abakasanga - Bauchi State
CP Peter Gana - Osun State
CP Bala Hassan - Niger State
CP Ibrahim Maishanu - Abia State
CP Muktar Ibrahim- Enugu State
CP Da'azumi Doma - Kano State
CP Adeola Adeniji - Ebonyi State
CP Adamu Hassan - Kebbi State
CP Fatai Adio Stittu - Kogi State
CP Olusegun Solomon - Sokoto State
CP Joseph Ibbi - Ondo State
CP Mohammed Indabawa -Anambra State
CP Mohammed J Abubakar - Zamfara State
CP Suleiman Lawal - Gombe State.  
DIGs & Their New Placements
DIG (Mrs.) Ivy Uche Okoronkwo - South East Zone,
DIG 'A' Azubuko Udah - North Central zone,
DIG 'D'Ganiyu Daudu -South West zone
DIG 'F' Mohammed Yesufu - South-South;
DIG 'C' Saleh Abubakar - North East 
DIG 'Training' Yusuf Abubakar - North West zone