Lagos set to take centre stage for International Roundtable

By Dr Anthony A Kila

As we move towards the 2011 general elections in April, Lagos will soon take centre stage for an international roundtable on the role of information and elections in Nigeria.

Stakeholders such as Seasoned and respected National and International Media Professionals, International Election Monitors, ICT Experts, Campaign Spokesmen and Publicity Directors, INEC Representative, Media Regulators and Media and Political Consultants will all sit together for one day to highlight the role of the media in the objective evaluation of activities around the voting exercise across the country.

The event will be an opportunity to sensitize the media on expectations from regulators and observers such as INEC, NBC and International and Local Monitoring groups. Participants will also discuss possible hidden traps that may compromise information gathering and dissemination.

It will hold at the Protea Hotel, Awolowo Road Ikoyi Lagos on Thursday March 24, 2011 starting at 10am.

Panellist at the forum will include INEC Chairman Prof Attahiru Jega, NBC Director General Engr Yomi Bolarinwa, Dr Reuben Abati of the Guardian, Anthony Dara of NN24, Olayinka Oyegbile of Next, Julius Mucunguzi of the Commonwealth, Michael Smith of the AFP, Ed Morgan of the International Foundation for Electoral Systems and Dr. Anthony Kila ECAPS Cambridge.

In a statement issued to the press on Monday, Dr Anthony Kila stated that “this is a non-partisan institutional building project aimed at identifying and sharing best international practices”. The roundtable is an initiative of Auxilia Links with input from the Commonwealth Secretariat London, International Foundation for Electoral Systems, United States Association of Former Members of Congress Washington and ECAPS Cambridge.

It is supported by NN24, Next, Protea Hotel Ikoyi Westwood, Bambert Medical Company, Providian Hotel Concepts, and Celebrity Travels.

Media Contact and Enquiries
Anthony Kila ▲Tel +2348071058277 ▲Email: [email protected]