Court excludes Seven PDP Governors from April Polls

Click for Full Image Size
Emmanuel Uduaghan

Justice Adamu Bello of the Federal High Court, Abuja, has ruled that the first tenure of Governor Emmanuel Uduaghan and Governor Timpre Sylva first will end in 2015 and 2014 respectively.

The two Governors and Governors Ibrahim Idris, Kogi, Aliu Wamakko, Sokoto, Murtala Nyako, Adamawa and Liyel Imoke, Cross River had asked the Court to stop the People's Democratic party, PDP and the Independent National Electoral Commission, INEC, from conducting the April 2011 Elections in their respective states on the ground that they have just been sworn-in after their earlier elections in 2007 were either voided or cancelled by the Court of Appeal.

The Governors who won their re-run elections noted in court papers that INEC erred by insisting that their tenures end in May 29 2011, adding that they took fresh Oaths of office and Oaths of Allegiance after their initial removal from office by the Appeal Court had voided the 2007 Oaths.

Justice Bello ruled that all the six PDP Governors will not stand for elections in April, paving the way for Governor Uduaghan who just won a re-run in January 2011 to be eligible for a re election in 2015.