By NBF News
Listen to article

• Jonathan visits Delta Friday
IN its quest to ensure total victory in the April general elections, the President Goodluck/Sambo campaign train is scheduled to berth in Asaba, the Delta State capital on Friday, February 25.

Delta State Governor Emmanuel Uduaghan who disclosed this yesterday in Asaba at the inauguration of his campaign committee, urged Deltans to come out en-masse to welcome them.

Uduaghan tasked the committee to launch a vigorous campaign that will shake the state and create the much-needed awareness for Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) candidates.

The governor also implored the committee to take the bull by the horns and penetrate all the nooks and crannies of the state to mobilise support for the various candidates in the state.

Reminding them that aggrieved members of the party were threatening to quit, the governor urged them to map out reconciliatory strategies that will win them back. He disclosed that plans were under way to persuade all party faithful to withdraw the cases they filed in various courts to give room for genuine reconciliation.

'Embark on genuine reconciliation especially to win all aggrieved members back to the party. We are, however, making effort to enjoin all these who went to court to withdraw the various cases', he said.

Waxing philosophical, he said it would be an error of judgment for a man to cut open his body simply because that part of the body is itching him.

Recalling the result of the re-run election in the state, the governor said: 'PDP is firmly and effectively on ground. We won 70 per cent of the votes and the election was PDP versus PDP. Indeed, we are effectively on ground and still in charge'.

He praised elders of the party and all party faithful for their dedication and contributions towards the achievements recorded by the party.

Responding, chairman of the campaign committee, Peter Nwoboshi, assured that the committee would start immediately to mobilise support for the party.

The committee of which the governor is the principal, is made up of Mr. Paulinus Akpeki (director general); Dr. Festus Okubor (deputy director general); Deputy Governor, Prof. Amos Utuama (member); Dr Ifeanyi Okowa (member) and Emma Ogidi (member).

Other members are Solomon Ogba, Senator James Manager, Dr. Pius Senebe, Dr Marian Ali, Senator Patrick Osakwe, Chris Agbobiu, among others. Funkekeme Solomon will serve as secretary.