By NBF News
Listen to article

Lagos State Governor, Mr. Babatunde Fashola and retired justice of the World Court at The Hague, Prince Bola Ajibola, have given their commitments to grace The Sun Man of the Year award holding this Friday, February 25, in Lagos.

World acclaimed businessman, Alhaji Aliko Dangote and Governor of Gombe State, Alhaji Danjuma Goje, will be honoured as joint winners of the 2010 edition of the annual event. The red carpet event would hold at the Expo Hall, Eko Hotel and Suites, Victoria Island, Lagos

The duo of Dangote and Goje was voted winners of the prestigious award by the Board of Editors of The Sun for their outstanding contributions to the private and public sectors in 2010.

Governor Fashola, himself, a joint winner of the 2009 edition of the award, would be the chief host on the occasion, eminent jurist, Prince Ajibola would be the chairman of the event.

Initiated in 2003, The Sun Man of the year award is the company's humble way of honouring Nigerian patriots whose public conduct and actions help to inspire hope for a better Nigeria. For putting telephones into the hands of ordinary Nigerians, Dr Mike Adenuga Jnr, Chairman of Globacom, won the award in 2003, while in 2004, it was Prof. Chukwuma Soludo, the then Governor of Central Bank of Nigeria (CBN), for envisioning a new banking order. In 2005, Mallam Nuhu Ribadu, the then Chairman, of Economic and Financial Crimes Commission (EFCC) won the award for his uncommon courage, determination and leadership demonstrated in the fight against corruption.

And in 2006, it awas Mrs Obiageli Ezekwesili, the then Minister of Education, for her pragmatic reforms in the education sector. His Excellency, Mr. Peter Obi, Governor of Anambra State and Rt Hon Rotimi Amaechi, Governor of Rivers State, emerged as joint winners of the award in 2007. Obi and Amaechi were named recipients for their staunch belief in the judiciary and rule of law in challenging the patent injustice foisted on them by those who manipulated due process, to shut them out of political offices. In 2008, Governor Adams Oshiomhole of Edo State emerged the winner, while Governor Babatunde Raji Fashola (SAN) of Lagos State and Mr Tayo Aderinokun, Managing Director \CEO, GTBank Plc,a emerged joint winners for 2009.