2011 Election: INEC Inaugurates Joint Panel With ICPC

Source: huhuonline.com
Listen to article

The National Chairman of the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC), Professor Attahiru Jega, has restated the commitment of the Commission to eliminating all forms of corrupt practices in the electoral processes. Jega, while speaking t he inauguration ceremony of the INEC/ICPC Collaboration Committee on the 2011 Elections, described the committee as the culmination of the collective approach by both the Independent Corrupt Practices and other Related Offences Commission (ICPC) and INEC to win the battle against corruption in the nation's electoral system.  

  Prof. Jega, who was represented by the Acting Chairman and Honourable National Commissioner in charge of Operations, Dr Nuru Yakubu, said that 'INEC is totally committed to ensuring that the electoral process is sanitized. The collaboration with ICPC is therefore informed by this desire to engage all partners in progress for the building of a better Nigeria.'  

  He noted that in as much as the Commission fully realizes and appreciates the fact that these synergies make the realization of its mandate easier, consequently, the electoral body has engaged all stakeholders to be able to achieve its desired goals.  

  The Chairman expressed the Commission's appreciation for 'the wonderful support and show of confidence reposed in it by Nigerians to deliver credible elections.' He said the Commission was committed to 'reciprocating unwavering integrity and all that it takes within the law to uphold this confidence. Integrity is indeed our watch word in all our dealings with Nigerians.  

  'This message has been conveyed to all the Commission's workforce (permanent and ad-hoc) and it shall not hesitate to invoke the necessary sanctions against any staff that may breach due process.'  

  The committee is tasked with placing at the disposal of INEC the expertise of ICPC in corruption risk assessment and advisory services in corruption prevention strategies as well as building the capacity of relevant units in INEC on identification/detection of corruption red flags and providing expert opinion on the level of transparency, credibility and integrity in electoral process.  

  Members of the Committee drawn from both INEC and ICPC include Oche Gordon (ICPC), M. A. Salame(ICPC), S.L. Wakama (ICPC), Rasheedat Okoduwa (ICPC), Okey Ndeche (INEC), Torgba Nyitse (INEC), Ibrahim Biu (INEC), Mustapha Muhammed Kuta (INEC), Ikwunma Halliday (INEC) and Saseyi Feyijimi (INEC).