By NBF News
Listen to article

THE Federal Government yesterday appointed 11 new ambassadors-in-situ (a diplomatic official of the highest rank sent by one country as its long-term representative to another) in recognition of their selfless service to nation building as officers of the Federal Ministry of Foreign Affairs.

The ambassadors were conferred and presented with letters of credence yesterday  by Minister of Foreign Affairs, Mr Odein Ajumogobia, on behalf of President Goodluck Jonathan.

The minister who described the occasion as unique said not everyone, who is being conferred with the title, had served in the foreign land while some have served in some international organisations and that they  served creditably, long in service, committed and dedicated to the service of their father land in the capacity in which they had played their roles.

He added that it was time in the recipients career to be recognised and be given a title reflecting their commitment, saying he is happy to confer the title of ambassador to the deserving foreign service officers who have served the nation in different capacities.

The recipients include Sheik Usman Abdulaziz, Zango Abdul, Yahaya Lawal, Patrick Okoye, Chiedu Osakwue, Nicolas Oluseye Davies, Elohor Etobo, Mrs Christy Nbonu, Olawale Mayegun, Hassan Tukur, Adeyemi Dipeolu.