TheNigerianVoice Online Radio Center

DELTA: Acting Gov. Sam Obi Dissolves Cabinet

Listen to article

In a bid to legitimize the official activities of members of the Delta state executive council, the Acting Governor, Rt. Hon. Sam Onyeka Obi has directed the dissolution of the State Executive Council with immediate effect. Erstwhile Governor of Delta state, Dr. Emmanuel Uduaghan, had during his occupation of office as governor of Delta state since 2007, appointed 29 commissioners and over 230 political aides.   Recall that reported that Uduaghan's political appointees in the state were gripped with panic, following agitations from various quarters that all commissioners and political aides in Uduaghan's administration should seize to occupy offices after the Appeal Court verdict that annulled the April 14, 2007 governorship election in the state.    

A statement issued at Government House, Asaba and signed by the Secretary to the State Government (SSG), Mrs. Beatrice Omeni said 'All serving commissioners have been directed to hand over the management of their ministries and Directorates as well government properties to Permanent Secretaries or the most senior Directors.     'The Acting Governor, while commending the commissioners for their various contributions towards the growth and development of the state wishes them well in their future endeavours'.    

The statement adds that the State Executive Council will be reconstituted shortly.   A government source disclosed that 'Obi's action to dissolve the State Executive Council is not far from the fact that the present State Executive Council constituted by Uduaghan has become illegitimate due to the erstwhile governor's removal office'.    

Another source said that 'these set of commissioners are illegal since the governor who appointed them ran an illegal term since 2007. The commissioners could no longer sign documents. The acting governor simply wants to run a legitimate government at least for three months. Some of them may be recalled but the right thing has to be done.     'The acting governor needs a new team to work with to perfect plans for the forthcoming re-run election in the state. Prince Obi and Uduaghan are working together and towards the same achievable goal of ensuring that PDP holds forth in the state.   'There is no doubt that Prince Obi has been attending rallies across the state in support of Uduagha's re-election bid and he recently told a gathering in Agbor that those against Uduaghan are nailing their coffins. That shows exactly where he is heading to and you know it', the source said.  

The sacked commissioners and members of the state executive council include, Barrister Raymos Guannah (Ministry of Lands, Urban and Regional Planning), Barrister Victor Otomewo (Ministry of Justice), Dr. Joseph Otumara (Ministry of Health), Hon. Anthony Akpomiemie (Directorate of Science and Technology), Barr. Richard Mofe-Damijo (Directorate of Culture and Tourism), Queen Victoria Ikenchukwu (Ministry of Women Affairs, Community and Social Development), Comrade Ovuozorie Macaulay (Ministry of Energy), Chief George Ugbomah (Ministry of Works), Mr. George Orogun (Ministry of Finance), Mr. Oma Djebah (Ministry of Information) and Hon. Ross Uredi (Bureau for Special Duties).   Others are Barrister Bello Orubebe (Ministry of Environment), Chief Lawrence Osiegbu (Directorate of Transport), Mrs. Juliet Agoba (Ministry of Education -Basic. & Sec.),   Barr. Ejaife Odebala (Directorate of Project Monitoring), Dr. Nnamdi Onochie (Special Duties, New Government House Project), Mr. Bernard Okumagba (Ministry of Economic Planning), Rev. (Mrs.) Shola Williams (Directorate of Youth Development), Mr. Patrick Mozea (Directorate of Local Government), Mr. Emmanuel Eboh (Special Duties -Ugbenu-Koko Road Project), Mr. Azuka Osakwe (Ministry of Commerce and Industries), Chief (Dr.) Tony Nwaka (Ministry of Agriculture and Natural Resource), Chief Frank Omare (Ministry of Housing).   Dr. Chris Oghenechorwen (Ministry of Water Resources), Mrs. Orezi Jane Esievo (Special Duties -DESOPADEC), Dr. Hope Eghagha (Ministry of Higher Education), Lady (Barr.) Kate Mudiaga-Erhueh (Special Duties - Abuja ), Hon. Ochor Christopher Ochor (Special Duties -Government House), Barrister Fred Majemite (Special Duties -Warri Water Project) were also sacked.

  Meanwhile, Barrister Raymos Guannah and Barr. Ejaife Odebala has since resigned their appointments to contest elections into the House of Assembly to represent Patani and Sapele constituencies respectively.