TheNigerianVoice Online Radio Center


By NBF News
Listen to article

The Police Service Commission yesterday announced the promotion of police commissioners of Ekiti, Nasarawa, and Imo states, Christopher A. Ola, Shehu Babalola and Aloysius Okorie respectively and nine others to the rank of Assistant Inspector General of Police, (AIG).

Others are: Abubakar Mohammed, Ibrahim B, Saidu Daya, Bukar Maina, Danlami Yar'Adua, Atiku Yusufu Kafur, Muhammed Murtala Abbass, Aloysius C. Okorie, Shehu A. Babalola, (Dr.) Madueke Dax Uzu and Charles A. Cole

According to the Head of Information and Press Unit of the Commission, Ferdinard Ekpe, 'the Police Service Commission at its 18th plenary meeting, held on Monday, the 25th of October, 2010, deliberated on various issues pertaining to the smooth running and effective administration of the Nigeria Police Force. It took far-reaching decisions in its attempt at transforming, refocusing and repositioning the Force to meet the challenges of policing a democratic nation in the 21st century and beyond.

'In line with its vision of realising the above objectives, the Commission has considered and approved the recommendations of the Acting Inspector-General of Police, Alhaji Hafiz Abubakar Ringim for the promotion of the following Commissioners of Police to the position of Assistant Inspectors-General of Police. All the promotions are with effect from 25th October, 2010.'

The commission congratulated the successful officers and urged them to re-double their efforts in the discharge of their duties to the nation.

It also called on all officers of the force to rededicate themselves to the service of providing adequate security for the nation.

In a related development, the Force Public Relations Officer (FPRO), Emmanuel Ojukwu and 14 other seniors officers have been redeployed from the Force Headquarters to other state commands and departments.

Ojukwu, who was the image-maker of the force was moved to Imo State as Officer-In-Charge, State Criminal Investigations Department (SCID), Imo State Command, Owerri.

The redeployment letter that was signed by the Force Secretary, AIG Suleiman Fakai, on behalf of the IGP warned that the new posting takes immediate effect, with CSP Yomi Ajayi as Acting Force Public Relations Officer.

The redeployment contained a total of eight Deputy Commissioners (DCP), three Assistant Commissioners (ACPs) and four CSPs, as the first major shake-up by the new Inspector General of Police (IGP) Hafiz Ringim since assumption of office.