TheNigerianVoice Online Radio Center

PDP NWC Dissolves Enugu Exco, Senator Agbo Heads Congress Panel

Listen to article

ABUJA, Oct 23, (THEWILL) -The National Working Committee (NWC) of the ruling Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) has ordered the immediate dissolution of the Executive of the Enugu Chapter of the Party.

The dissolution order issued at the weekend also announced the setting up of an eight-member Congress Panel to conduct a fresh congress in the state starting from next week Saturday.

A statement from the Media Aide to the PDP National Chairman Ike Abonyi named Senator Anthony Agbo from Ebonyi State as Chairman; Mr. Sam Bassey (Cross River) Secretary; Hon. Chibudom Nwuche (Rivers) member; Mr. Daisi Aina-Oshun, member; Barr. (Mrs.) Margaret Osogbue (Delta), member; Hon. Major S. D. Ngada (Borno), member; Princess Chinelo Onwudiwe (Anambra), member and Alhaji Modibo (Gombe), member.

The statement also directed the Executive of the State to hand over immediately to the Congress Panel and cooperate with the congress panel where necessary.

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) had queried the manner of election of Enugu State Executive alongside seven other states, Plateau, Oyo, Imo, Anambra, Delta and Bayelsa.

INEC had in the letter to the party threatened that it would not accept any list sent to the commission by the Executives of the states unless and until it dissolves the executives and conducts an all-embracing election of members.