TheNigerianVoice Online Radio Center

DR CONGO HUMAN RIGHTS REPORT TO BE LAUNCHED FRIDAY, 15:00 CET

Source: unic.org

GENEVA – The Office of the High Commissioner for Human Rights (OHCHR) will publish the report of the Mapping Exercise documenting the most serious human rights violations in the Democratic Republic of the Congo (DRC) between 1993 and 2003 at 15:00 CET / 09:00 EST at 15:00 CET Geneva/Brussels time (14:00 GMT+1 London time and 09:00 EST New York time) on Friday, 1 October 2010. At that time, a webpage including the French and English versions of the report, a press release and press statement, as well as eight thematic backgrounders and any comments by concerned states received by then will go live at www.ohchr.org.

There will be no formal press conference, however a number of OHCHR staff will be available for TV and radio interviews in English, French, Arabic, Spanish, Italian and Portuguese.

Media wishing to arrange interviews on the day should call one of the following numbers:

+41 22 917 9383
+41 22 917 9310
+41 79 444 7578
For broadcasters: an interview with the UN High Commissioner for Human Rights Navi Pillay will be disseminated through Eurovision/EBU and UNifeed around 15:00 CET / 09:00 EST, and will subsequently be posted at: ftp://Communications:[email protected] A non-broadcast quality version will also be posted on www.ohchr.org

The mapping exercise and its resulting report are unprecedented in scope, covering ten years and the entire territory of the DRC. The report describes a total of more than 600 incidents in the DRC between 1993 and 2003 in which hundreds of thousands of people were killed, injured and victimized in other ways, including large numbers of women and children. Over 1,280 witnesses were interviewed to corroborate or invalidate alleged violations, including previously undocumented incidents, and more than

1,500 documents were collected and analysed during the two years it took to research and produce the report.

The overarching objective of the DRC Mapping Exercise is β€œto formulate a series of options aimed at assisting the Government of the DRC in identifying appropriate transitional justice mechanisms to deal with the legacy of these violations, in terms of truth, justice, reparation and reform.”




IF YOU DON'T KNOW GOD YOU DON'T KNOW GOD
By: HARRISON ISOKEN