TheNigerianVoice Online Radio Center

How can we end Poverty? Join the Global Conversation with the United Nations on Facebook

By UNDP Newsroom

In the run-up to the UN Millennium Development Goals (MDGs) Summit in September, the United Nations Development Programme (UNDP) will host a live, online Facebook conversation on the global fight against poverty and the actions required to achieve sustainable development. The conversation, the first of its kind to be hosted by UNDP, aims to engage the public on the MDGs and the action plan that will be discussed by world leaders during the upcoming Summit.

During the Facebook conversation, UNDP Chief Helen Clark will be online answering questions about the MDGs and discussing their achievement with any member of the general public. Throughout the Summit, Miss Clark will also use the UNDP Twitter account to update the public on the latest developments and outcomes. She will sign her personal tweets with “^HC”.

What: Online Conversation on Ending Poverty

Who: Helen Clark, UNDP Administrator

When: 15 September 2010, at 09:30 AM EST/ 2:30PM GMT

Bangkok 8.30 PM
Bratislava / Cairo / Johannesburg 3.30 PM
Dakar 1.30 PM
New York 9.30 AM
Panama 8.30 AM

How: Event will broadcast live on UNDP Facebook Pageand onUstream.


How you can participate:

· By submitting your MDG-related questions to Miss Clark before the live broadcast through Facebook and Twitter (using @undp and #endpoverty) or simply by emailing: [email protected]

· By sharing the event with your friends on Facebook

· We are also kindly asking you for your support to promote this event online by tweeting about it using #endpoverty and @UNDP as well as posting a banner to your blog or website. Please click here for sample tweets and banners.

To find out more about the conversation, please visit http://www.undp.org/mdg/conversation.shtml

The Global Conversation Event will be carried out with the support of several partners including Ustream, LinkedIn, WPP and Interaction London.

For further information contact:
Silke von Brockhausen, Tel.: +1 212 906 6183; e-mail: [email protected]