Jonathan Appoints New IG, Service Chiefs, & DG SSS

Listen to article

In one fell swoop; President Goodluck Ebele Jonathan has retired the inspector general of police, the director general state security service and three service chiefs.

The new service chiefs are:
Air Chief Marshall Petinrin (former Chief of Air Staff), who is to serve as the chief of defense staff ( CDS)

Major General Ihejirika is the new chief of army staff (COAS)

Air Vice Marshall M. Umar, was appointed the new chief of air staff(CAS)

Rear Admiral O. Ibrahim will serve as chief of naval staff (CNS)

President Jonathan also appointed Hafiz A. Ringim as new the Acting Inspector General of Police, while Mr.Ita Ekpeyong will serve as the new Director General of the State Security Services (SSS).

In a media advisory issued by Ima Niboro, the Special Adviser to the President on Media and Publicity, President Jonathan said,

"the appointment is with immediate effect, subject to the confirmation of the National Assembly, subject to the Armed Forces Act, section 18(cap a20 laws of the Federal Republic of Nigeria 2004)."

"The president thanked the outgoing service chiefs, whose tenures allegedly "expired in August", for their outstanding stewardship, loyalty, and defence of the constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria.

The president also thanked the outgoing Inspector General, Ogbonnaya Onovo, and outgoing DG SSS, Mr. A.A Gadzama, for their dedication to service of the fatherland and wished them well in their future endeavours.