Three Local Govt Chairmen, Others Dump APC

By Damilare Adeleye
Click for Full Image Size

The ruling All Progressive Congress (APC) again suffered another setback as three outgoing Local Government Chairmen defected to the New Nigeria Peoples Party (NNPP) in Kano.

The defectors include Hon. Ado Tambai Kwa, Chairman of Dawakin Tofa Local Council, the immediate constituency of acting National Chairman of APC, Dr. Abdullahi Umar Ganduje.

It was reported that the tenure of the local government Chairmen ends this month, which marks the expiration of their three-years

Hon. Kwa dumped APC to NNPP along with his deputy Hon. Garba Yahaya Labour and other councillors from Ganduje’s home council.

Similarly, the APC gubernatorial candidate in the 2023 general elections, Nasiru Yusuf Gawuna also lost a strong loyalist and chairman of his Nassarawa local government council, Hon. Auwalu Lawan Aramposu, to NNPP.

Hon. Mudassiru Aliyu, member of APC and Chairman of Garun-Malam Local Government council also cross carpeted to NNPP.

Receiving the defectors and their mass supporters at the Coronation hall, Government House on Saturday, Governor Abba Kabir Yusuf applauded the ingenuity of the former APC members to join the NNPP.

Governor Yusuf who assured them of fairness and equal treatment in their new party stressed that NNPP would be magnanimous enough to accommodate the entire APC members to serve humanity.

The Governor reiterated the government’s commitment to enhance social and economic development through massive investment of resources in the areas of education, health, agriculture, water resources, and human empowerment.

According to Governor Yusuf, ” We are lucky that some of you have recognized the pattern of our leadership and decided to join hands with us on a mission to make Kano great. You are highly welcome home. “

The defection of APC members to NNPP is coming barely two weeks, after the National Chairman of the party and immediate past Governor, Ganduje extended an open letter inviting the NNPP leadership to the ruling party.