INEC Declares APC Candidate Winner Of Surulere Bye-Election

By Damilare Adeleye
Click for Full Image Size
Fuad Laguda

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has announced Fuad Laguda of the All Progressives Congress (APC) as the winner of Saturday's Bye-Election of the Surulere Federal Constituency 1.

The Returning Officer, Prof Simeon Adebayo made this declaration on Saturday while announcing the results.

He declared that Laguda secured a total of 11,203 votes, positioning him as the triumphant candidate in the hotly contested election.

Fuad Laguda, a former chairman of the APC in Surulere Local Government, is expected to replace Femi Gbajabiamila, who resigned as a member of the House of Representatives to serve as Chief of Staff to President Bola Ahmed Tinubu.