JUST IN: INEC Declares APC’s Ododo Winner Of Kogi Guber Election

By Damilare Adeleye

Independent National Electoral Commission has declared All Progressives Congress (APC) candidate, Usman Ododo, winner of Kogi governorship election.

Prof Johnson Urama, State Returning Officer, , who is the Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Academics) of the University of Nigeria, Nsukka, announced Ododo as the winner on Sunday night.

According to INEC, Ododo emerged with 446,237 votes, defeating his closest rival, Murtala Ajaka of the Social Democratic Party (SDP), who scored 259,052, while Dino Melaye of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) polled 46,362 votes.

Usman Ododo won in 13 local government areas of the state, the candidate of the SDP won 7 local government areas and Leke Abejide of the African Democratic Congress (ADC) won one local government area.

The candidate of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), Dino Melaye who was unable to win any local government garnered 46,362.

Ododo, an ex-Auditor General of Local Government in Kogi under Governor Yahaya Bello, was the anointed candidate of the governor who is ending his double terms of eight years.