Governor Adeleke Dissolves Osun State Assembly

By Damilare Adeleye

The Osun State Governor, Senator Ademola Adeleke, has announced the dissolution of the 7th Osun State House of Assembly.

This is just as he made a proclamation for the 8th Assembly which is expected to be inaugurated on Tuesday.

A statement on Sunday by the governor’s spokesperson, Olawale Rasheed, said Adeleke acted pursuant to the powers vested in him by Section 105(3) of Nigeria’s Constitution.

According to the statement, the governor has conveyed his order dissolving the 7th Assembly and proclaming the 8th Assembly in two letters to the Clerk of the state Assembly.

He said the dissolution was with immediate effect, adding that the new Assembly would be inaugurated by 10am on Tuesday.

“Whereas it is provided in Section 105(1) of the Constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria, 1999, as amended, that a House of Assembly shall stand dissolved at the expiration of a period of four years, commencing from the date of the first sitting of the House.

“Now, therefore, I, Senator Ademola Jackson Nurudeen Adeleke, the Governor of Osun State of Nigeria, in exercise of powers bestowed upon me by Section 105 (3) aforesaid, and of all powers enabling me in that behalf, hereby proclaim that the seventh Assembly of Osun State House of Assembly is hereby dissolved with immediate effect,” his letter read partly.