Tinubu, Other APC Presidential Aspirants Shun Strategic Abuja Meeting

By Damilare Adeleye

The All Progressive Congress presidential aspirants in the just concluded primary election, on Wednesday, shunned a 'strategic' meeting scheduled to hold in Abuja.

It was learnt that the meeting was later put off barely hours of commencement due to the non-commitment of aspirants who have reportedly indicated their non-availability.

Nichola Felix, one of the aspirants said, in a statement on Monday, that the meeting was aimed at brainstorming and adopting winning strategies to support the party’s standard-bearer, Bola Tinubu.

Felix, who had announced the postponement of the meeting stated that a new date would be announced.

He, however, did not give reasons for the cancellation of the meeting.

The statement read: “Please be informed that the strategic meeting of 2023 Presidential Aspirants of the All Progressives Congress, scheduled to hold on Wednesday the 31st of August has been postponed.

“A new date for the meeting will be communicated soon. Apologies for any inconvenience(s) that this might cause.

“We will also brainstorm on adopting winning campaign strategies to support our standard-bearer, Bola Tinubu, and seek to carry every Nigerian along in our bid to coast home to victory in the 2023 general elections.”

According to reports, the aborted meeting also sought to address a number of factors such as reconciling aggrieved members, challenges bedevilling the country and inclusive politics.

Many of the aspirants claimed ignorance of the meeting, stating that they had no knowledge of it while others were literarily unavailable.

Among those expected were Vice President Yemi Osinbajo; former Minister of Transportation, Rotimi Amaechi; former Science and Technology Minister, Ogbonnaya Onu; former Minister of State for Education, Chukwuemeka Nwajiuba and former Minister of Niger Delta Affairs, Godswill Akpabio.

Five serving governors, namely Yahaya Bello (Kogi), Dave Umahi (Ebonyi), Abubakar Badaru (Jigawa), Ben Ayade (Cross River) and Kayode Fayemi (Ekiti) were also expected.

Others were the President of the Senate, Ahmad Lawan; former Ogun State governor and serving senator, Ibikunle Amosun; a serving senator, Ajayi Boroffice; former Zamfara governor, Ahmad Sani; former Imo State governor and serving senator, Rochas Okorocha; a former Senate President, Ken Nnamani, a former Speaker of the House of Representatives, Dimeji Bankole; fiery cleric, Tunde Bakare; Pastor and Businessman, Dr Nicolas Felix; former Information Minister, Ikeobasi Mokelu; Businessman, Tein Jack-Rich and the only female among them, Uju Ken-Ohanenye.