Group to honour Fashola, Wamako, Akpabio, as Keyamo delivers lecture


A non-governmental organization, Conscience Nigeria (CN) would on July 30, 2010 in Abuja honour three 'deserving governors' and other distinguished Nigerians, as part of its 5 th anniversary lecture.

The Executive Director of CN, Mr Tosin Adeyanju in a statement made available newsmen yesterday, said that the President of ECOWAS Commission, Ambassador Victor Gbeho would chair the event, scheduled for Ladi Kwali Hall, Sheraton Hotel.

The group with the cardinal objective of promoting good governance, rule of law and democracy in Nigeria, named the governors as Babatunde Fashola of Lagos, Aliyu Wamako of Sokoto and Godswill Akpabio of Akwa Ibom.

Other Nigerians to be honoured at the event which the organization is planning to use to launch a Campaign on new voters register in Nigeria, include Alhaji Musa Ujah, Sen. Ken  Nnamani, Dr. Sani Shuaibu (Director of Finance & Account Federal Ministry of  Petroleum,Dr.Ade Abolurin(Comander general of civil defence corps) and Mrs. Josephine Anenih.

According to the organization, human rights lawyer, Mr Festus Keyamo, would deliver the anniversary lecture, titled: “Democracy, Rule of law and 2011 Elections challenges”.

CN which has been at the vanguard of ensuring good governance in the country, said that it recognized excellence in service in the country and would do all it could to encourage it.

The group urged Nigerians to continue to support every meaningful attempt to deepen the democratic process in the country, while not failing to make constructive criticisms.