Abuja Land Dispute: Senator ejects Rep from home

Source: pointblanknews.com

The chairman of the House Committee on Media and Public Affairs, Eseme Eyiboh has been ejected from his Abuja palatial home. He was kicked out today on the orders of a court in the Federal Capital Territory sequel to a land  dispute with senator Hassan Gussau

Mr Eyiboh's belongings were thrown out by over 30 armed policemen who stormed the residence located at 7A Iyamoye Close, Off Gimbiya Street, Area Eleven, Garki District, Abuja at about 8am. They were accompanied by officials of the court and relations of the man who is disputing the property with the lawmaker. 

Although, the lawmaker was not at home when they came, his wife and other personal staff witnessed the eviction and were left in shock as the policemen reportedly vandalized the building.

Mr Eyiboh's three colleagues, namely Kamil Akinlabi (PDP, Oyo), Lanre Agoro (PDP, Oyo) and Dan Etete (PDP, Akwa Ibom) also rushed to the premises but could not stop the eviction. The policemen also ignored other sympathizers who made attempts to prevail on them from carrying out the eviction orders. 

Mr Eyiboh, a member from Akwa Ibom State has, since 2008 been engaged in a dispute with a senator, Hassan Muhammed Gusau over the expansive land on which he (Eyiboh) erected his private house.

The member had last month petitioned the Independent Corrupt Practices and Other Related Offences Commission (ICPC) alleging that a judge of an Abuja Upper Area Court, Gwagwalada, M.U. Akoyi had abused his office by exceeding his jurisdiction in his actions, notwithstanding the suit he instituted against Mr Gusau over the property, and should be investigated by the commission.

Mr Eyiboh claimed that he bought the property sometime in 2007 from the administrators of the Estate of Sheik Mujaddadi and obtained the relevant documents, although the Senator is also claiming to have purchased the same property from the same administrators.

Mr Eyiboh said he instituted the suit at the High Court of the FCT presided by Talba J. Abubakar against the Administrators, Messrs Dahiru Sheik Mujaddadi, Aisha Sheik Mujaddadi and Tahir Idris Hadieja seeking declaratory and injunctive reliefs.