By NBF News
Listen to article

Ondo State House of Assembly on Tuesday set up a committee to screen the nominees forwarded to it by the state Governor, Dr. Olusegun Mimiko, as commissioners-designate.

The incoming commissioners are expected to fill the vacancies created following the death of Chief Oye Alademehin from Okitipupa Local Government Area and the resignation of Mr. Wale Akinterinwa from the Ile-Oluji/Okeigbo Local Government Area.

The nominees are; the Special Adviser to the Governor on Inter-governmental Multilateral Relations, Dr. Pius Osunyikanmi, and Mr. Diran Iyantan, the younger brother of a former deputy governor of the state under the Adebayo Adefarati government.

Mimiko, had in a letter signed by the Secretary to the State Government, Dr. Rotimi Adelola, sent the names of the two nominees to the state House of Assembly for confirmation.

After the letter was read on the floor of the Assembly on Tuesday, the Majority Leader, Mr. Ifedayo Akinsoyinu, moved that the names be forwarded to the select committee of the Assembly for screening.