Presidential Library: Obasanjo forced governors to donate N10m each in 2005, says Fayose

By The Citizen

Ekiti State Governor, Ayo Fayose has alleged that former President Olusegun Obasanjo forced all Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) governors, in 2005, to donate N10 million each, for the establishment of the Obasanjo Presidential Library in Abeokuta, Ogun State.

Fayose made the allegation when he addressed PDP stalwarts, during a meeting of the Senator Ahmed Makarfi-led faction of the party in the South-West zone.

'Obasanjo could come out to condemn PDP that gave him a platform to be president of Nigeria for eight years. When we saw the picture when Obasanjo was released from prison by General Abubakar Abdusalami, you would not allow such a man to sit beside you.

'We were made to pay N10 million each, as governors in 2005, to build his presidential library. I have written to him to return that money. How can Nigeria be celebrating a corrupt man? He is the worst ever. He should put interest in that N10 million I contributed. His time has come and gone; we are at the centre of the business now.'

PDP chieftains at the meeting, however endorsed Markafi and Fayose as leaders of the party.

In a communique issued at the end of the meeting, the members resolved as follows: 'We passed a vote of confidence and support for the Senator Ahmed Makarfi-led National Caretaker Committee.

'The leadership appreciates the doggedness of members of the PDP in the South West, in the face of harassment and intimidation and we implore them not to lose hope as there is light at the end of the tunnel. We, PDP leaders and members in the South West, support the decision of the National Caretaker Committee, led by Makarfi to challenge Senator Alli Modu Sheirff's claims to the leadership of the party at the Supreme Court.

'We are sure justice will prevail in the end. The leaders of the PDP in the South-West repose confidence in the leadership of governor Fayose of Ekiti state, as the leader of the party in the South West, as well as the chairman, PDP Governors' Forum in Nigeria and South West leaders, hereby, recognise and pass vote of confidence in the South West zonal executive under the leadership of Dr. Eddy Olafeso.'

They also resolved that South West PDP, under Fayose, 'will continue to pursue the ideals of peace and harmony in the region and the entire nation in full consultation with 'our leaders and members.'

In attendance at the meeting were Chief Ebenezer Babatope, Chief Bode George, Mrs. Foworola Bucknor Akerele, Senator Iyiola Omisore, Mr. Eyitayo Jegede, Chief Gbenga Daniel, Kayode Amusan, Prince Dayo Adeyeye and Olatunde Oladipupo Adebutu.

State and zonal chairmen of the party also attended the parley. - The Sun.