TheNigerianVoice Online Radio Center

Nigeria Loses Out Of Glo-caf African Player Award

Listen to article

BEVERLY HILLS, November 22, (THEWILL) – No Nigerian player was shortlisted as the African Football Confederation (CAF) released the names of the five footballers shortlisted for its Glo-CAF 2016 African Player of the Year Award.

The 5 players shortlisted are: Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang (Gabon & Borrusia Dortmund); Riyad Mahrez (Algeria & Leicester City); Sadio Mane (Senegal & Liverpool); Mohamed Salah (Egypt & Roma); and, Islam Slimani (Algeria & Leicester City).

In the same vein, the final list for the African Player of the Year (Based in Africa) was released and no Nigerian player made the top five.

Those listed are: Khama Billiat (Mamelodi Sundowns & Zimbabwe); Keegan Dolly (Mamelodi Sundowns & South Africa); Rainford Kalaba (TP Mazembe & Zambia); Hlompho Kekana (Mamelodi Sundowns & South Africa); and, Denis Onyango (Mamelodi Sundowns & Uganda).

CAF revealed that the top five, in each category, was decided by votes from the members of the CAF Media Committee, CAF Technical and Development Committee and half of the 20-member Panel of Experts (10 persons).

It declared that for the final phase, votes from the Head Coaches/Technical Directors of the 54 National Associations affiliated to CAF plus Associate Members will be involved.

CAF also revealed that the 2016 Glo-CAF Awards Gala, sponsored by telecommunication giants, Globacom, will be held on January 5, 2017 in Abuja, Nigeria.

Mikel Obi, Kelechi Iheanacho of Manchester City and Alex Iwobi of Arsenal Fc of England were nominated in the first set of players shortlisted for the awards but could not make the final lsit.

THEWILL recalls that Nwankwo Kanu is the last Nigerian to win the prestigious football award in 1996 and 1999 while still playing for Arsenal FC of England.

Story by Oputah David