TheNigerianVoice Online Radio Center

Buhari Sends Six Names For Inec, Five For Npc, To Senate


BEVERLY HILLS, September 29, (THEWILL) – President Muhammadu Buhari has sent names of six proposed commissioners for the Independent National Electoral Commissioners (INEC) to the Senate for consideration and confirmation.

THEWILL recalls that the Senate had on Tuesday called on the President to submit names for the vacant states alleging that at least 20 states had no Resident Electoral Commissioners (REC), adding that the development was contrary to the Third Schedule of the 1999 Constitution, as amended.

The Senate said there were signs that the 2019 general elections would be inconclusive as it expressed concerns that the rate of inconclusive elections in many states showed that INEC was endangering the nation's democracy.

The President also forwarded five names of proposed commissioners for the National Population Commission (NPC).

In a letter read by Senate President, Abubakar Bukola saraki on the floor of the Senate Thursday , President Buhari said that he was forwarding the list of names in accordance with the provision of Section 154(1) of the 1999 Constitution (as amended) declaring that the appointees were from the six geo-political zones of the country.

Those nominated as INEC commissioners are, Prof. Okechukwu Obinna Ibeanu – Anambra (member, South East); May I. Agbamuche-Mbu – Delta (member, South South); AVM Ahmed Tijani Mu'azu (rtd) – Gombe (member, North East); Mohammed Kudu Haruna – Niger (member, North Central); Dr.Adekunle Ladipo Ogunmola – Oyo (member, South West); and, Abubakar Ahmed Nahuche – Zamfara (member, North West).

Those appointed to serve as commissioners of the NPC are Engr. Benedict Ukpong (Akwa Ibom, member); Gloria Fataya Izonfuo (Bayelsa, member); Barrister Kupchi Patricia Ori Iyanya (Benue, member); Dr. Haliru Bala (Kebbi, member); and, Dr. Eyitayo O. Oyetunji (Oyo, member).

Story by David Oputah

Consience is what makes a boy tell his mother before his sister does.