TheNigerianVoice Online Radio Center

Applications Open for UNODA Women Scholarship for Peace: Global South Scholarships (Deadline - 31AUG2016)

By United Nations (UN),SMS
Listen to article

The Women Scholarship for Peace: Global South is an initiative coordinated by the UN Office for Disarmament Affairs (UNODA) at Vienna within the so-called Disarmament and Non-proliferation Partnership (DNP) of 27 organizations, all working in the field of disarmament, non-proliferation and development.

The online and in-person courses will introduce participants to key conceptual and practical aspects of topics such as weapons of mass destruction, conventional weapons, disarmament and development, gender and disarmament, as well as peace and development-related technologies.

The educational modules have been developed by the DNP Education partners, and provide first-hand information about major international organizations working in disarmament, non-proliferation and development, including the International Atomic Energy Agency , the Preparatory Commission for the Comprehensive Nuclear-Test-Ban Treaty Organization and the Organisation for the Prohibition of Chemical Weapons.

Participants will obtain a certificate from the UN-mandated University for Peace (UPEACE) , with the possibility to obtain a diploma carrying university credits.

The courses are intended for early-career women from various fields from the Global South. Previous knowledge of the disarmament field is not required.

For 2016, applications for a total of 140 scholarships are now open to nations of the following territories/countries:

Middle East

Algeria, Bahrain, Comoros, Djibouti, Egypt, Iraq, Jordan, Kuwait, Lebanon, Libya, Mauritania, Morocco, Oman, Qatar, Palestine, Saudi Arabia, Somalia, Sudan, Syrian Arab Republic, Tunisia, United Arab Emirates, Yemen


Angola, Benin, Botswana, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cabo Verde, Cameroon, Central African Republic, Chad, Congo, Côte D'Ivoire, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Equatorial Guinea, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Gabon, Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea Bissau, Kenya, Lesotho, Liberia, Madagascar, Malawi, Mali, Mauritius, Mozambique, Namibia, Niger, Nigeria, Rwanda, Sao Tome and Principe, Senegal, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, South Africa, South Sudan, Swaziland, Togo, Uganda, United Republic of Tanzania, Western Sahara, Zambia, Zimbabwe

Asia Pacific

Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Bhutan, Brunei Darussalam, Cambodia, China, Cook Islands, Cyprus, Democratic People's Republic of Korea, Fiji, India, Indonesia, Iran (Islamic Republic of), Japan, Kazakhstan, Kiribati, Kyrgyzstan, Lao People’s Democratic Republic, Malaysia, Maldives, Marshall Islands, Micronesia (Federated States of), Mongolia, Myanmar, Nauru, Nepal, Niué, Pakistan, Palau, Papua New Guinea, Philippines, Republic of Korea, Samoa, Singapore, Solomon Islands, Sri Lanka, Tajikistan, Thailand, Timor-Leste, Tonga, Turkey, Turkmenistan, Tuvalu, Uzbekistan, Vanuatu, Viet Nam

The deadline for applications is 31 August 2016. For more information and to apply, please visit