TheNigerianVoice Online Radio Center

UN Committee against Torture to Review Kuwait, Honduras, Burundi, Mongolia

By Office of the UN High Commissioner for Human Rights (OHCHR),MBC
Listen to article

The UN Committee against Torture is meeting in Geneva from 25 July to 12 August to review the following countries: Kuwait (25-26 July); Honduras (27-28 July); Burundi (28-29 July); and Mongolia (2-3 August).

The above are among the 159 States parties to the Convention against Torture and Other Cruel, Inhuman or Degrading Treatment or Punishment, and so are required to undergo regular reviews by the Committee on how they are implementing the Convention and the Committee’s previous recommendations.

The Committee, which is composed of 10 independent experts, will engage in a dialogue with the respective government delegations. The public sessions, held at Palais Wilson in Geneva, run from at 10:00 to 13:00 and 15:00 to 18:00 Geneva time. The sessions will be webcast at

Further information is available at:

The Committee has scheduled a press conference for Friday 12 August at 12.30 at the Palais des Nations in Geneva to discuss its findings on the respective States. These findings, officially known as concluding observations, will be published here on 12 August: