TheNigerianVoice Online Radio Center

Dogara, Emir Sanusi, Ooni of Ife, Others To Speak At Youth Diversity Conference May 23

By Abubakar Usman
Listen to article

The Emir of Kano, Muhammed Sanusi, the Ooni of Ife, Oba Adeyeye Ogunwusi and the Obi of Onitsha, Igwe Nnaemeka Achebe are among notable Nigerians expected to deliver papers at the Youth Diversity Conference scheduled to hold on May 23 at the NAF Conference Centre in Abuja.

Also expected at the conference is the Speaker of the House of Representatives, Honourable Yakubu Dogara who will deliver the keynote address.

Others are renowned Islamic Scholar, Sheikh Nurudeen Lemu and youth advocate, Chioma Akwuegbu.

Organised by The Youth Resource Centre in conjunction with the All Progressives Youth Forum (APYF) and the office of the Speaker of the House of Representatives, the Youth Diversity Conference with the theme “Strengthening the Unity in Our Diversity” is aimed at examining and discussing the concept of our ethnic and religious diversity within the context of our national desire, drive and quest for a truly united Nigeria.

Representatives of ethnic, religious, regional and political youth groups in the country will gather to examine our realities from the three stand points of our political, economic and socio-cultural differences with a view to birthing creative solutions to managing our diversity for national development, and obtaining an acceptable standard for citizenship in Nigeria.

While Emir Sanusi will discuss from the perspective of our economic differences, Igwe Achebe and Oba Adewusi will discuss from the perspective of our political and socio-cultural differences respectively.

At the end of the conference, a position paper statin the perspective of young Nigerians on this critical issue will be produced while modalities will be put in place to produce draft national citizenship bill and draft national policy on national reorientation to be presented to the National Assembly and the presidency respectively.

Abuh Andrew
Chairman, Planning Committee