Zambia to host the 13th Technical Support Committee meeting for peace, security and cooperation in the Great lakes region of Africa

By Office of the Special Envoy of the United Nations Secretary-

The Republic of Zambia, in its capacity as signatory to the Peace, Security and Cooperation Framework for the Democratic Republic of Congo and the region (PSCF) will host the 13th meeting of the Technical Support Committee on 13 May 2016. The Technical Support Committee is an advisory mechanism comprising senior government officials from the 13 signatory countries of the PSCF, including the Democratic Republic of the Congo, Angola, Burundi, the Central African Republic, the Republic of Congo, Kenya, Rwanda, South Africa, South Sudan, Sudan, Tanzania, Uganda and Zambia.

The meeting, which is taking place in Zambia for the first time follows a recommendation endorsed by the Heads of State and Government of the region, and the Guarantors of the Framework, including the United Nations, the African Union Commission, the International Conference on the Great Lakes Region and the Southern Africa Development Commission to promote inclusive participation by member states in the implementation process.

The Technical Support Committee meeting is expected to make recommendations to advance the implementation of the core objectives of the Framework which include: the neutralization of armed groups in eastern Democratic Republic of Congo; tackling the illegal exploitation of natural resources; addressing impunity and promoting judicial cooperation; finding durable solutions for refugees and IDPs; supporting Women and Youth empowerment; and promoting regional integration, economic development and governance. Participants will also discuss the relevant issues in line with the newly adopted Security Council Resolution 2277 (2016) with a view to harmonizing their strategies for the full implementation of the commitments contained in the PSCF.