Riyad Mahrez: Leicester City forward named PFA player of the year

By The Rainbow
Click for Full Image Size

Leicester City forward Riyad Mahrez has won the Professional Footballers’ Association Player of the Year award.

Mahrez has scored 17 goals and made 11 assists in 34 league games to take Leicester to the cusp of the title.

The award was voted for by the Algeria international’s fellow professionals.

Tottenham midfielder Dele Alli, 20, was named PFA Young Player of the Year, while Manchester City forward Izzy Christiansen won the Women’s Player of the Year award.

Sunderland striker Beth Mead, 20, was named Women’s Young Player of the Year.

Analysis: ‘I voted Vardy but Mahrez deserves it’

Mahrez, 25, held off competition from Tottenham forward Harry Kane, Arsenal midfielder Mesut Ozil, West Ham United midfielder and fellow Leicester men Jamie Vardy and N’Golo Kante to win the award.

Premier League season in numbers for the PFA Player of the Year nominees:

Goals Assists Minutes played
Riyad Mahrez 17 11 2795
Harry Kane 24 1 3008
Jamie Vardy 22 6 2959
Dimitri Payet 9 9 2311
Mesut Ozil 6 18 2869
N’Golo Kante 1 4 2750
Mahrez was handed the prize at the Grosvenor Hotel in London on Sunday hours after scoring in his side’s 4-0 win over Swansea City as leaders Leicester moved to within five points of the title.