Edo Orders Council Chairmen To Vacate Office

Source: thewillnigeria.com

SAN FRANCISCO, April 18, (THEWILL) – The Edo State House of Assembly has ordered 17 local government Chairmen in the state to hand over the administration of their various councils to the head of local government administration before next Thursday.

This was decided by the legislators on Monday, following the constitutional expiration of the elected council executives on April 21, 2016; as 17 chairmen were elected into office on April 20, 2013, and sworn in on April 21, 2013.

The resolution by the House was sequel to the presentation of a constitutional observation moved by Sunday Osazemwinde, and seconded by Ativie Elizabeth.

Osazemwinde argued that the tenure of the Chairmen in all the councils as prescribed by Section 10(1) and 18(1) of the local government law 2000, allowed for three years single tenure, following the conduct of their election on April 20, 2013.

“The EDSIEC is supposed to have conducted election within 90 days before the expiration of the tenure of the incumbent chairmen,” he said.

“It behoves on the parliament to mandate the chairmen to hand over the administration of their respective councils to the heads of local government administration, as it has become clear from all indications that there are no plans to conduct local government elections in the near future.”

Victor Edoror, Speaker of the House, with support from the House directed the Chairmen to hand over the administration of their councils to the heads of local government administration on or before April 21, 2016.

The House however exempted the chairman of Esan North-East, Sam Oboh, from the handing over directive, as he has not completed the three-year tenure, following the re-run election that characterised the electoral processes of his victory.

The lawmakers also directed the Chairman and members of the Edo State Independent Electoral Commission (EDSIEC) to appear before it on April 19 to explain why the commission had not been able to conduct local government elections.

Story by David Oputah