Libya: EU adds 3 people to sanctions list

By Council of the European Union

On 1 April 2016, the Council added three names to the list of people subject to EU restrictive measures against Libya.

Agila Saleh, president of the Libyan Council of Deputies in the House of Representatives; Khalifa Ghweil, prime minister and defence minister of the internationally unrecognised General National Congress; and Nuri Abu Sahmain, president of the internationally unrecognised General National Congress, are viewed as obstructing the implementation of the Libyan Political Agreement of 17December 2015 and the formation of a Government of National Accord in Libya.

The Council remains concerned about the situation in Libya, and in particular about acts that threaten the peace, security or stability of the country, and that impede or undermine the successful completion of Libya's political transition.

On16March2015, the Council recalled that only a political solution can provide a sustainable way forward and contribute to peace and stability in Libya. It urged against actions that could exacerbate current divisions.

The legal acts adding the three names were published in the Official Journal on 1 April 2016. The Council will keep these measures under regular review in light of developments on the ground.