Rivers re-run: PDP floors APC in results released so far

By The Rainbow
Click for Full Image Size

  • PDP wins four federal, eight state constituency seats; APC wins two state seats

THE Independent National Electoral Commission has released  more results of the last re-run elections in Rivers State, which indicates that the Peoples Democratic Party has won more federal seats.

INEC declared the candidates of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) for Port Harcourt Federal constituencies 1 and 2 and that of Obio/Akpor winners of the March 19 rerun National and State Legislative Assemblies elections in Rivers State.

A summary  of the result showed that at the federal constituency level,  the Peoples Democratic Party, PDP, won Port Harcourt constituency 1,  Port Harcourt constituency 2 , Obio/Akpor, and Abua Odua, Ahoada East.

For the state constituencies, PDP won Port Harcourt constituency II, Ahoada East I, Ahoada East II, Akuku Toru I, Emohua, Obio/Akpor I, Obio/Akpor II, ONELGA I and Omuma. The All Progressives Congress, APC, won Akuku Toru II while the PDP candidate Tonye Alalibo was disqualified. The APC also won Opobo, Nkoro state constituency thus making a total of two so far captured by the party. INEC said it  was investigating the re-run elections in Degema state constituency.

The results were announced last night in Port Harcourt, the state capital, by the Resident Electoral Commissioner (REC), Aniedi Ikoiwak.

Ikoiwak said PDP's candidate for Port Harcourt Federal Constituency 1, Kenneth Anayo Chikere, got 18, 904 votes to defeat his closest rival, Igo Aguma, of the APC, who polled 6, 035 votes.

The election results also showed that PDP's candidate for Port Harcourt Constituency 2, Mrs. Blessing Nsiegbe, polled 6, 968 votes to defeat Collins A. N. Owhondah of the APC, who got 3,154 votes.

INEC announced that PDP's candidate for Obio/Akpor state constituency, Kingsley Chinda, polled  27, 895 votes to defeat his closest rival, Tony Okocha, of the APC, who polled 9, 514 votes.

Thus far,  the PDP has won four Federal and eight state constituency seats in the rerun; APC has won two of the state constituency seats.

Ikoiwak said the decision to announce the results was reached last Wednesday at the Abuja meeting of the electoral umpire.