AUC Leadership Nominated for the New African Woman Awards

By African Union Commission (AUC)

The Chairperson of the African Union Commission Dr. Nkosazana Dlamini Zuma and two others in the leadership of the AU Commission have been nominated for the prestigious New African Woman Awards 2016.

The AU Commission Chairperson was nominated alongside the AUC Commissioner for Trade and Industry, H.E Fatima Haram Acyl and the AU Special Envoy on women peace and security, Ms. Benita Diop. They are among the few exemplary women leaders that are up for the award in the Politics and Public Office category.

The African Woman Award (AWA) that will be held under the theme; “Changing the Game” is one of the most prestigious awards globally, dedicated to recognizing the achievements of African Women. The Award ceremony is set to take place on 10th March 2016, in London, United Kingdom.

The AWA is organized by the New African Woman magazine, the world's widest read magazine for women of African descent, in honor of all women making exceptional contributions to social economic development on the continent as well as setting the example for future generations to come.

The award ceremony is held primarily to celebrate the success of African women on the continent and promote empowerment of women in all sectors

Among the other categories where other exemplary African women are nominated are business, education, science, technology and innovation, finance, banking, media, sports, arts and culture, civil society, rising star and New African Woman of the Year.