Kogi Assembly speaker impeached

By The Rainbow

The  Speaker of Kogi  State House of Assembly, Momoh Jimoh Lawal,  and other principal officers  that were impeached on Thursday, thereby heightening the political uncertainty in thee state.

Other principal officers removed are the Deputy Speaker, Ali Akuh and the Minority Leader, Hassan Bello.

The house  at the plenary removed the affected officers and  elected Osiyi Ojo representing Ogori/Magongo State Constituency as the new Speaker.

The assemblymen also elected  John Abah from Ibaji State constituency, who is also the Chairman House Committee on Information and Orientation,  as the new Deputy Speaker, while Linus Enenche was elected as the new Minority Leader.

The Kogi lawmakers converged immediately after their house session at the Press Centre of the Nigeria Union of Journalists (NUJ), Lokoja, where they informed newsmen that the three principal officers had been removed from office.

Abah, who spoke on behalf of the members, said the Speaker was impeached because he had failed to give adequate leadership to the house.

According to him they adjourned the house sitting till December 16, 2015. He said the motion for impeachment was moved by Henry Ukubile Ochijenu-Acharu of Idah constituency and seconded by Umar Iman of Kogi state constituency.

The post Kogi Assembly speaker impeached appeared first on THE RAINBOW NEWS ONLINE .