TheNigerianVoice Online Radio Center

Delta: Okowa Appoints New Chairman, Managing Director For DESOPADEC

Listen to article

BEVERLY HILLS, August 25, (THEWILL) – Delta State Governor, Dr. Ifeanyi Okowa has appointed a former chairman of Warri North Local Government Council, Hon Godwin Toritseju Ebosa as new chairman of the Delta state Oil Producing Area Development Commission (DESOPADEC).

The governor who recently signed the new DESOPADEC law which allows for the establishment of a management team for the oil commission, also named former PDP National Treasurer, Chief Williams Makinde, as its Managing Director.

The governor’s letter conveying the names of the appointees to the Speaker of State House Assembly, Hon Monday Igbuya, which was read at Tuesday's plenary, revealed that the oil commission now has three Executive Directors and eight board members.

THEWILL learnt that those nominated to serve in the commission are; Hon Godwin Ebosa, Chairman, (Itsekiri- Warri North); Chief Williams Makinde, Managing Director, (Urhobo-Oghara, Ethiope West); Chief Askia Ogieh, Executive Director Finance and Administration, (Isoko South); a former Chervon staff, Chief Phillip Gbasin, Executive Director Social Service, (Ijaw-Warri South West); and Hon Ocho Chris Ocho, Executive Director, Project (Ukwuani).

Others who will serve as representatives of oil producing areas on the board are; Chief Amos Itiwhe, (Ughelli South); Chief Pius Ovbija, (Ughelli North); Jonathan Amitaye; Chief Ovie Oghoore, (Isoko North); Chief Thomas Ereyitomi, (Itsekiri, Warri South West); Nnamdi Ezechi, (Ndokwa East); Hon Fidelis Oputa, (Ndokwa West) as well as Chief Favour Izoukumor (Warri South West).

The nominees will be screened on August 26, 2015, at the state House of Assembly.