El-rufal Retires 20 Permanent Secretaries

Source: thewillnigeria.com

SAN FRANCISCO, July 15, (THEWILL) – Kaduna State Governor, Mr. Nasiru El-rufai has approved the retirement of 20 Permanent Secretaries from the state's civil service and also appointed 13 new ones.

A statement Wednesday by Mr. Samuel Aruwan, Special Assistant, Media and Publicity to the governor announced the development, saying it is in line with the governor's resolve to cut the cost of running government in the state.

The governor had earlier cut the number of Ministries from 19 to 13.

“The action is part of efforts to free up resources to be used for providing schools, hospitals, roads and other public goods. The government, which at inception had declared its determination to cut costs, drive efficiency and improve service delivery, is continuing the restructuring of its agencies. This is to ensure that the number of permanent secretaries is properly aligned with the new structure; there will be only 13 Permanent Secretaries for the 13 ministries,” the statement said.

The statement, however, said that five departments would now be headed by permanent secretaries, bringing the number of permanent secretaries in the state to 18.

The departments include Public Service Office; the Bureau of Establishments; Political and Economic Affairs; Cabinet and Security Services and General Services.

The statement said el-Rufai had since conveyed his appreciation to the departing permanent secretaries for the services they had rendered the state.

It said the governor had also approved the appointment of Thomas Gyang as Special Adviser, Budget Monitoring and Price Intelligence Unit (BMPIU).

According to the statement, Mr. Gyang, a member of the Nigeria Institute of Quantity Surveyors, holds degree in Quantity Survey from Ahmadu Bello University, Zaria.

The governor also named Alhaji Ibrahim Aminu as new Chairman, state's Local Government Service Commission, while Mr. Ezekiel Karik was appointed the new Executive Secretary, State Emergency Management Agency (SEMA).