Gov Ajimobi cuts down number of ministries from 23 to 13

By The Rainbow

Oyo State Governor Abiola Ajimobi Wednesday reduced the state's ministries from 23 to 13.

This is coming a few days after the Kaduna State governor, Mallam Nasir El-Rufai, had announced the reduction of the number of commissioners in the state from 19 to 13.

The actions of the two governors may as well be a signal a new fad of downsizing the government for leaner and more effective cabinet.

Ajimobi, who spoke  at the inauguration of the eighth Oyo State House of Assembly,  said the ministries were reduced to cut the cost of governance and also restructure the Ministries, Departments and Agencies (MDAs) for optimum performance.

The governor urged the legislature to cooperate with the Executive in the pursuit of this goal.

“Our desire to embark on the foregoing, among others, is borne out of our ardent desire to make life more abundant for the people.

“Likewise, for the state to attain the desired global status that she deserves.”

Ajimobi expressed gratitude to the people of the state, who ”defied all known distractions to break the mythical or contrived yoke of 39 years of “no second term at Agodi Government House”.

According to him, his vision is to make the state a place where people could realise their aspiration.

The Nation reports that as early as 8am, over 100 security operatives blocked the two entrances of the Parliamentary Building in Agodi Secretariat, Ibadan.

Two Armoured Personnel Carriers (APCs) and five patrol vans were also at the entrance.

Guests were searched before they entered the building.

A source said the heavy security presence was to prevent violence by supporters of the two contenders for the speakership.

The two contenders are Michael Adeyemo (Ibarapa East) and Olusegun Olaleye (Ibadan North I).

It was gathered that the All Progressives Congress (APC) and Ajimobi have appealed to Olaleye to step down for Adeyemo, but he insisted on contesting.

The election was supervised by the Permanent Secretary/Clerk of the House, Deacon Gbola Akinyanju, in the presence of the governor, party leaders, supporters, traditional rulers and civil servants.

Adeyemo was nominated by Kehinde Subair and his nomination carried the majority.

Other elected officers include Musa Abdulwasiu (Saki West) Deputy Speaker, Kehinde Subair (Ibadan South West 1) Majority Leader and Oyatokun Oyeleke Adeyemo (Afijio) Deputy Majority Leader.

Others are Joshua Olagunju Ojo (Oriire) Minority Leader. Wasiu Olafioye of Lagelu and Olusegun Ajanaku of Ibadan South West 11 are Chief Whip and Chairman, Parliamentary Council.

Adeyemo assured the governor that the Assembly would cooperate with the Executive to give the state a well coordinated direction in governance and politics.

The post Gov Ajimobi cuts down number of ministries from 23 to 13 appeared first on THE RAINBOW NEWS ONLINE .