TheNigerianVoice Online Radio Center

Ahmed Joda heads Buhari's transition committee

By The Rainbow
Listen to article

President-elect General Muhammadu Buhari has constituted an 18-man transition committee to liaise with the the one set up by President Goodluck Jonathan to ensure  smooth transition of power.

The committee, which is drawn from across Nigeria’s six geo-political zones, is headed by veteran and respected civil servant Ahmed Joda as chairman, with cerebral economist Doyin Salami as the deputy.

According to reports, other members of that the committee which will co-steer Buhari’s transition to power on May 29, include Malam Adamu Adamu, who will serve as its secretary, Mr. Boss Mustapha, Malam Muhammad Hayatuddin, Alhaji Abubakar Malami (SAN), Dr. Tam David West, Governor Rotimi Amaechi and Chief John Oyegun.

Included in the list are Mr. Festus Odimegwu, Dr. Ogbonnaya Onu, Mrs. Nike Aboderin, Mr. Wale Edun, Mrs. Bola Adesola, Barrister Solomon Dalong, Chief Audu Ogbeh, Senator Hadi Sirika and Brig-General Lawal Jafaru Isa.

Although the transition committee drawn across the country is said to be made up  three persons from each of the six geo-political zones, the list shows   the South-west  has more representation (four persons), while the South-east has just two persons on the committee.

Pundits believe that though the committee might not mean automatic nomination to the ministerial, it gives indication of the persons Buhari will be looking up to to drive the vision of his incoming administration.

“I believe that this gives an indication of how Buhari’s government will look like. Not all of them will be ministers, but most of them will,” an analyst who preferred to remain unanimous said.

Buhari who defeated Presidrnt Goodluck Jonathan in the March 28 presidential election will be sworn into office on May 29, 2015, which be a record first time an opposition party is unseatinga ruling one in Nigeria.

The post Ahmed Joda heads Buhari’s transition committee appeared first on THE RAINBOW NEWS ONLINE .