TheNigerianVoice Online Radio Center

Delta: Opposition Parties Concede Victory To Okowa, Hail INEC

Listen to article

…Uduaghan Says Victory Confirmation of Supremacy of PDP in Delta

BEVERLY HILLS, April 13, (THEWILL) – Eleven governorship candidates who contested Saturday's Governorship Election with Delta state Governor-Elect, Senator Ifeanyi Okowa, alongside members of opposition parties in the state have conceded defeat and congratulated the PDP governorship candidate on his victory at the poll.

This came amid wild jubilation in Asaba, the state capital, and across the state over Okowa's victory which many have described as victory for true democracy and prosperity.

Coming under the auspices of the Inter Party Advisory Council Of Gubernatorial Candidates in Delta State, (IPAC), the opposition parties, in a statement issued at an emergency press conference in Asaba, congratulated Okowa on his victory at the poll, saying that it was clear that Okowa would win.

The statement which was read by Mrs. Oluremi Mohammed, who doubles as the gubernatorial candidate of the People for Change Party, (PCP), on behalf IPAC just before the last result from Aniocha North was released, said; “Having received reports from all over the state and conscious of the voting trends in Delta State, we have received the results and hereby concede victory to the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) and Senator Ifeanyi Okowa.”

Although it was not clear if Ogboru who came second in the contest as well as Emerhor are members of the group and consented to the message, the political parties urged all governorship candidates in the April 11 election to take the cue and do the same for the betterment and success of Delta State.

While affirming that the election was free and fair, the group congratulated Senator Okowa and wished him success in providing democracy dividends to Deltans.

The statement was jointly signed by seven of the 11 gubernatorial candidates of the opposition parties that contested the governorship election in Delta State . They are Mrs. Olurunmi Mohamed (PDC), Fran Igwebuike (PDM), Rev. A.R Onwubuya and J.A Breakfort, (ACD), Philip George (UPP), David Ashikodi (Accord), Elliot Awere (MPPP) and Ibordoh Emmanuel (APGA).

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) had declared Senator Okowa winner of Saturday's Governorship Election in Delta State.

INEC state Returning Officer for the election, Prof. Bio Nyananyo, declared Okowa winner of the contest with a total vote of 724,680, followed by Ogboru's LP which got 130,028 and APC's Emerhor who got 67,825.

The state Returning Officer, Prof. Bio Nyananyo , said; “I Professor Bio Nyananyo, hereby certified that I was the Returning Officer for the Delta State Gubernatorial election held on April 11, 2015. That the election was contested and the 18 Candidates of various political parties participated in the election” adding; “having satisfied the requirement of the law, Ifeanyi Okowa is hereby declared winner of the election.”

Okowa won in 21 councils, beating his main challenger, Ogboru of Labour Party who got four local government councils. Ogboru was trashed in Isoko South, the local government of his running mate, Elder Peter Erebi by PDP while Olorogun O'tega Emerhor got pipped by LP in Ughelli North Council.

Emerhor, who was flaunted by factional organ of the Urhobo Progressive Union, led by Chief Tuesday Onoge, was defeated as he couldn't secure the required vote from any council in the state.

Okowa who got overwhelming votes in the 22 councils, secured the votes of four councils in the Delta Central Senatorial District, mainly populated by Urhobos and believed to be the stronghold of Ogboru and Emerhor.

Okowa had a landslide victory in his council area of Ika North East where he polled 72,612 and also in Warri South West which is the local government of his deputy, Barrister Kinsgley Otuaro.

Votes from Burutu, Bomadi, Warri North which is the local government council of incumbent Governor, Dr. Emmanuel Uduaghan, also gave Okowa victory in the poll .

He also got overwhelming votes from Oshimili South and Oshimili North believed to be his stronghold in Delta north senatorial district of the state.

The Labour Party (LP) candidate, Chief Great Ogboru who had protested the votes from Ika North East and Oshimili South councils also had overwhelming votes in Udu local government area, which is believed to be his stronghold.

Meanwhile, Governor Emmanuel Uduaghan has congratulated Okowa on his victory, saying the victory has affirmed the performance and supremacy of PDP in Delta.

In a statement issued in Asaba by his Chief Press Secretary, Mr. Sunny Ogefere, the governor said the success of the PDP was “a total victory for all Deltans.”

He commended the members of the PDP in the State as well as the electorate for renewing their faith and trust in the PDP to pilot the affairs of the State for the next four years.

Uduaghan thanked Deltans for their peaceful conduct during and after the elections and assured that development strides in the state under Okowa will be rapid, peaceful and progressive.

He assured that the transition will be smooth and called on all other political parties that contested the election to accept defeat, embrace the winner and help to create an atmosphere of peace and development in Delta State.

“My appeal to all Deltans is that we should remain calm and peaceful as we look forward to more dividends of democracy from PDP administration in the state”, he stated.

He however enjoined parties and contestants that are aggrieved to channel their grievances lawfully to the appropriate quarters or approach the elections tribunals for redress rather than take the laws into their hands.

The breakdown of the results released by INEC is as follows:

Warri North: PDP 40,154; APC 2,723; LP 514
Ethiope East: PDP 8,776; APC 1,779; LP 23,747
Ughelli South: PDP 24,486; APC 8,288; LP 10,108
Aniocha South: PDP 22,674; APC 1,268; LP 439
Ika South: PDP 23,622; APC 893; LP 473
Ughelli North: PDP 8,985; APC 5,939; LP 16,379
Ukwuani: PDP 13,965; APC 1,777; LP 2612
Uwvie: PDP 16,162; APC 2,028; LP 18,164
Ndokwa West: PDP 31,450; APC 2,028; LP 1,094
Burutu: PDP 67,619; APC 1,061; LP 1,135
Sapele: PDP 13,837; APC 3,627; LP 7,848
Ethiope West: PDP 31,890; APC 2,329; LP 1,678
Oshimili South: PDP 51,974; APC 1,253; LP 1,218
Bomadi: PDP 51,974; APC 594; LP 594
Isoko North: PDP 44,209; APC 4,502; LP 3,661
Ika North East: PDP 72,612; APC 340; LP 66
Patani: PDP 16,421; APC 771; LP 684
Udu: PDP 6,097; APC 3,369; LP 15,857
Oshimili North: PDP 19,368; APC 978; LP 505
Isoko South: PDP 30,355; APC 10,054; LP 4,023
Okpe: PDP 12,165; APC 3,706; LP 7,728
Warri South: PDP 22,799; APC 2821; LP 9,953
Warri South West…PDP 73,328 APC 2,188 LP 470
Ndokwa East: PDP 15,091 APC 1,542 LP 625
Aniocha North: APC 871 LP 302 PDP 8703