Ibori's daughter, others win PDP House of Assembly primaries in Delta

By The Citizen

Ms Erhiatake Ibori, daughter of former Governor James Ibori, Mr Godwin Abigor, Speaker Peter Onwasanya, Mr. Pius Labo, Elegbete Moses Odibo and Mr Reuben Azeze, were among the winners at People's Democratic Party, PDP, primaries for the 2015 state House of Assembly elections conducted, weekend. Erhiatake won the Ethiope West constituency battle, said to have been boycotted by other aspirants, while Abigor polled 23 votes to displace the incumbent Omawunmi Udoh to grab the Warri South Constituency I ticket and Izeze, a former student union leader, sailed home unopposed in Ughelli South constituency. The Speaker of the state House of Assembly, Mr Peter Onwasanya, won the Oshimili South slot and incumbent member, Mr Adolphous Ojo shrugged off his opponents to clinch the Ukwuani ticket. Mr Onwusanya described weekend's PDP primaries as a pointer to the unity of purpose among party members. He insisted that the party provided a level playing ground for aspirants to test their popularity and described the election as peaceful,  free and fair and commended party members for comporting themselves peacefully throughout the election period. Mr Friday Osanebi repeated the same feat in Ndokwa West, polling 49 against his fellow contestants, Emeke Ozegbe, Ann Izi, Sam Chukwuji, Chike Ugwumadu, who scored three, two, one and zero respectively. Mr Kennedy Daubry, Burutu South constituency, emerged for a second term in the primary election held at Tuomo town. Daubry, who is the incumbent member representing Burutu South, won the primary election with19 votes against the other two aspirants, who got 10 votes and four votes respectively. Mr. Pius Labo emerged the party's candidate in Bomadi, in the primaries held at St. Brendan's College, Bomadi (former Government College). Amongst those that contested for the party's ticket were a former chairman of the party in the council, Labo, who clinched the ticket from the serving member in the state Assembly, representing the constituency, Oboro Preyor as well as two female aspirants Eniye Ayaoge and Eniekebi Edein-otu. Former Commissioner in charge of Special Duties (Infrastructures), Mrs. Oreze Esievo emerged the party's flag-bearer in Isoko South and the Deputy Chief Whip of the House Assembly, Mr Johnson Erijo, was returned unopposed in Isoko South. Incumbent Efe Ofobruku won in Uvwie just as Tim Owhefere emerged in Isoko South and Dennis Omovie in Warri South Constituency II. Omovie, gunning for a fourth term in the state House of Assembly received 21 votes to clinch the Warri South II ticket against Erutega Okumagba, Vincent Okudolo and Jackson Omatsola, who got five votes put together with Augustine Chike supervising as PDP Returning Officer. Former commissioner, Elegbete Moses Odibo and the DESOPADEC Commissioner, Mr Michael Diden, won in Udu and Warri North,respectively. Odibo dislodged the incumbent, Ketson Okoro. In the results announced by the PDP Returning Officer, Mrs. Flora Alatan, Odibo, polled 30 votes to edge out incumbent Okoro, who got 20 votes while Isreal Macauley got 12 votes. In Aniocha North state constituency, Mr. Uzomah Idabor won the ticket, while Lady Angela Nwaka picked the Aniocha South ticket. Mr Isaac Ulebor won in Ika South, while Tony Elekeokwuri triumphed in Ika North East. It was not clear who got the ticket yet in Sapele as the Majority Leader of the House, Chief Monday Igbuya and his fellow contestants found themselves at contrasting venues during the primaries. There were parallel primaries in Sapele, but the Majority Leader of the House of Assembly Chief Monday Igbuya, told Vanguard on phone, yesterday, that he won. Returning Officer in Sapele, Mr. Tobechukwu Okonkwo, has disclaimed reports that one Chief Felix Anirah was declared the winner of the elections, insisting that out of 62 accredited voters, 61 delegates voted for the incumbent lawmaker, Mr. Monday Igbuya, while Anirah scored one vote, just as the third aspirant, Chief Ayemonor Lucky, scored zero. Vanguard