Fayose Sacks 35 LG Chairmen, Secretaries, Boards

Source: pointblanknews.com

Ado-Ekiti – Ekiti Government on Saturday announced the dissolution of the

35 local government areas including Local Council Development Areas

(LCDAs) caretaker administrations.
This is contained in a statement signed by the Chief Press Secretary to

the State Governor, Mr Idowu Adelusi, made available in Ado-Ekiti.

According to the statement, all the 35 council chairmen along with their

secretaries and other members of caretaker committees have been relieved

of their appointments.
It stated that Gov. Ayo Fayose had approved the immediate dissolution of

all the councils.
The statement also ordered the immediate dissolution of all boards of

parastatals, agencies and commissions.
The 35 local government areas involved were those of the original 16 and

the 19 LCDAs in the state.
The statement directed all the affected caretaker chairmen to immediately

hand over to the directors of administration in their respective council

NAN recalls that caretaker chairmen had been in control of the 16 council

areas throughout the four year tenure of the immediate past governor, Dr

Kayode Fayemi.
The former governor also appointed caretaker committees for the 19 newly

created LCDAs few days after the June 21 gubernatorial poll which he lost.

NAN further recalls that Fayemi's attempted to hold council election in

the 16 councils on Feb. 4, 2011, but was halted by the state High Court

ruling following a suit filed by the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) in the

The PDP had alleged that some of the members of the State Independent

Electoral Commission were card carrying members of the then ruling All

Progressives Congress (APC).
NAN reports that Fayose, at his inaugural speech on Thursday in Ado Ekiti,

vowed not to recognise any illegal creation made by the immediate past

He also promised not to uphold appointments and promotions carried out

after the former governor lost the gubernatorial election in June.

“Section 7 of the 1999 Constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria as

amended clearly spells the authorities and procedures for the creation of

local government. (NAN)
The post Fayose Sacks 35 LG Chairmen, Secretaries, Boards appeared first on Pointblank News .