Sultan turbans Tambuwal as Matawallen Sokoto, Sokoto Speaker, 3 others

By The Citizen

The Sultan of Sokoto, Alhaji Sa'ad Abubakar III, on Saturday, conferred on the Speaker of the House of Representatives, Alhaji Aminu Tambuwal, the traditional title of Matawallen Sokoto. The Abubakar also turbaned the Speaker of the Sokoto State House of Assembly, Alhaji Lawalli Zayanna, as the Sarkin Gobir of Gwadabawa (District Head). The Sultan also turbaned the state's Accountant-General, Alhaji Kabiru Tafida, as the Sarkin Fadan Sokoto, Alhaji Aminu Iya as the Iyan Sokoto and Alhaji Fodio kyari as the Wamban Sokoto. Abubakar appealed to politicians in the country to close ranks and work together for the peace and unity of Nigeria. He urged the politicians and leaders in the country to work for the people and not for themselves. 'You should eschew politics of personalities, bitterness and hatred; these obnoxious acts should not feature during the 2015 general elections. 'The ongoing war against insurgency and terrorism is succeeding but more can be achieved with a united Nigeria.'' The Sultan said that the celebrators were bestowed with titles for their honesty, loyalty and dedication to the service of the people of the state and Nigerians. The monarch urged them not to relent in doing good, saying 'to whom much is given, much more is expected.'' Responding on behalf of the honoured, Tambuwal commended the Sultan for finding them worthy of the titles and for his commitment to the peace and unity of Nigeria. He said 'we will continue to emulate our fore-bearers and support the Sultanate Council of Sokoto to ensure the success of its laudable activities.'' The event was attended by former Head of State, Retired Gen.Muhammadu Buhari, former Vice President Atiku Abubakar, Duputy Senate President Ike Ekweramadu and the Deputy Speaker, House of Representatives, Mr Emeka Ihedioha. Others were Gov. Aliyu Wamakko of Sokoto State, APC National Chairman, Chief John Oyegun, serving and former governors, National Assembly members, emirs, obas and chiefs from across Nigeria. (NAN)