TheNigerianVoice Online Radio Center

Outgoing Governor Fayemi creates additional 18 local councils


Despite losing the Ekiti State Governorship election, Governor Kayode Fayemi  is set  to create additional 18 Council Development Areas based on the recommendations of the White Paper Committee set up by his administration.

Already, Governor-elect, Ayo Fayose, has described the move as absurd.

In a press statement, the Commissioner for Information and Civic Orientation, Mr. Tayo Ekundayo, said the new council areas will be created from the existing 16 local government areas following a referendum by the State Independent Electoral Commission (SIEC) and consideration of the outcome of the referendum by the State House of Assembly.

They will operate as Local Council Development Areas (LCDAs) pending the concurrence of the National Assembly, which would accord them the status of full-fledged local government councils.

According to the commissioner, the new councils and their proposed headquarters as contained in the White Paper and approved by the State Executive Council are as follows:

i)               Ado West Local Council Development Area-   Okesha

ii)              Ado-North LCDA———————————  Oke –Ila

iii)            Ado-Central LCDA——————————– Ijigbo

iv)             Ekiti North-East LCDA————————— Kota- Ekiti

v)              Ogotun/Igbaraodo LCDA————————- Oke- Agbe

vi)             Osi/Isokan LCDA ——————————— Ifaki
vii)           Eka Meta LCDA———————————– Erijiyan- Ekiti

viii)          Okemesi/Ido Ile LCDA————————— Okemesi – Ekiti

ix)             Gbonyin LCDA———————————— Aisegba
x)              Irewolede LCDA——————————— Iloro- Ekiti

xi)             Irede LCDA————————————— Ipoti-Ekiti

xii)           Ikere West  LCDA——————————- Anaye
xiii)          Ajoni LCDA————————————– Aiyedun
xiv)          Ifelodun LCDA———————————– Igbemo –Ekiti

xv)            Araromi LCDA———————————– Iyin –Ekiti

xvi)          Ero LCDA—————————————– Igogo
xvii)         Ifesowapo LCDA——————————– Bamisile Land

xviii)       Ifeloju LCDA————————————- Ilupeju- Ekiti