TheNigerianVoice Online Radio Center

Senate confirms monetary policy committee, NPC members

By The Citizen
Listen to article

The Senate on Tuesday in Abuja confirmed the re-appointment of four members of the Monetary Policy Committee of the Central Bank of Nigeria (CBN).

The members are Dr Adedoyin Salami (Microe-conomic Policy), Prof. Chubuike Uche (Banking and Finance), Dr Shehu Yahaya (Development Economics) and Mr Abdul-Ganiyu Garba (Monetary and Fiscal Policy).

Their confirmation followed the approval of the recommendation of the report of the Senate Committee on Banking, Insurance and other Financial Institutions which screened the nominees.

The Chairman of the senate committee, Sen. Bassey Otu, said that all the nominees met the criteria set for appointment into their positions.

The senate also on Tuesday confirmed the appointment of Alhaji Hassan Bashir (Bauchi State) and Mr Olarewaju Fayemi (Ekiti State) as members of the National Population Commission (NPC).

The new members were confirmed after scaling through the screening conducted by the Senate Committee on National Identity Card and National Population.

The Senate President, Sen. David Mark, while congratulating the new NPC members, urged them to assist the commission to resolve the controversy surrounding the population figure.

Mark said: 'Population is a very serious issue in this country and I believe that they would bring something on board so that we know our true figures.

'Every time we talk about statistics in this country, depending on who you are talking to, we don't appear to have the accurate figures.

'I hope that they would help to bring something on board so that we can know our true population in this country,' he said. (NAN)