TheNigerianVoice Online Radio Center

Imoke, Others Win Zik Prize For Leadership

Listen to article

SAN FRANCISCO, May 13, (THEWILL) â€' Cross River State Governor Senator Liyel Imoke, Edo State Governor, Comrade Adams Oshiomhole and Gombe State Governor, Mr. Ibrahim Dankwambo, have been announced as joint winners of the 2013 Zik Prize for Leadership.

A statement signed by the Chairman, Advisory Board of the foundation, Prof. Jubril Aminu, said the three governors were selected for the good governance category due to their outstanding contributions to the development of their respective states.

'The Zik Prize in Leadership is meant to encourage the development of patriotism, honour and integrity among Africans and all black people of the world,' the statement added.

Prof Aminu maintained that the Public Policy Research and Analysis Centre (PPRAC) is a private sector, non-political and non-governmental organization, stressing that this year's recipients were adjudged by the Advisory Board to have excelled in various fields of human endeavour and were therefore selected for the prestigious award.

The formal presentation of the award is slated for June 22.

The Zik Prize in Leadership was set up in 1994 by the Centre as part of annual activities in honour of late Dr. Nnamdi Azikiwe, the First President and Commander-in-Chief of the Armed Forces of the Federal Republic of Nigeria.