16 LG Chairmen, Deputies, 193 Councilors, Others Defect To APC In Kwara

Source: thewillnigeria.com

BEVERLY HILLS, CA, January 31, (THEWILL) - The chairmen of all the 16 local government areas of Kwara State Friday formally defected to the All Progressives Congress (APC).

The chairmen were elected on the platform of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) on October 26, 2013.

The council bosses defected to the APC alongside their deputies, 193 elected councilors and 80 supervisory councilors.

The chairman of the Association of Local Governments of Nigeria (ALGON) in the state, Barr.

Abdulateef Okandeji announced their official defection at a news conference in Ilorin today.

Okandeji who is also the chairman of Ilorin East local government area said, 'I recall that following the refusal and failure of the national leaders of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) to address the observations and complaints of its founding members especially about the lawlessness, impunity and injustice which had become the norms and led to factionalisation of the PDP, our leaders decided to team up in what is known as the nPDP under the national chairmanship of our own Alhaji Abubakar Baraje.

'After exhaustive consultations and deliberations by our leaders spearheaded by Senator Bukola Saraki, it was unanimously decided that the best option for us would be to merge with the newly formed All Progressives Congress (APC) and work together in the overall interest of the good people of this country and towards the advancement of democracy.

'Therefore, it is against that very brief background that we, the members of ALGON, Kwara State chapter hereby publicly declare for the APC and call on all our supporters and well-wishers to join hands with pour leaders to move the state and the country forward on the viable alternative platform provided by the APC.