Source: the 2009 league season: the 2010 league does not have a resumption date. Photo: NEXT
Listen to article

After the bad press and bad blood that erupted with the concession bid-gone-awry, one of the interested parties, 'Friends of Rugby', is moving forward with its programme for rugby development in Nigeria.

A rugby tournament put together by the body – Rakia 10's Rugby tournament has received unprecedented entries for her forthcoming maiden 2010 rugby tournament coming up this weekend in Lagos.

According to the spokesperson of the group and the International Rugby Board Educator for Nigeria, Ntiense Williams: 'We have received an unprecedented entry for our 1st Rugby Tournament of the 2010 Rugby Season titled the Rakia 10's Rugby Championship scheduled for this weekend Saturday, March 6 & March 7, 2010 at the Main Bowl of the National Stadium, Surulere, Lagos from 9am – 6pm daily.'

The tournament has been planned to run for two days. Ntiense continued, 'The two-day 10-A-Side Rugby Tournament was planned for a maximum of 12 Rugby Teams, but at the close of entries on Friday we had received 14 Club entries, with 2 other tentative entries. This is an unprecedented record in the history of Rugby championships in Nigeria.'

Record entries
The unprecedented number of entries has raised a number of logistic challenges for the competition. The body had already confirmed arrangements for a 12-teams format, but will meet early this week to confirm their position and conduct the draws for the Tournament.

The 14 Clubs that have so far confirmed their participation for the tournament are: Kano Rugby Football Club, Zaria RFC, Ilorin RFC, Obafemi Awolowo University RFC, Igbinedion RFC, Warri (Shell) RFC, Delta State Rugby Team, Addax RFC, Lagos RFC, Young Lions RFC, Eco II RFC, Rivers Rugby Team, Police Machine RFC AND the defending Champions, Cowrie RFC.

Meanwhile, the four invited Female 7-A-Side State Rugby Teams to feature alongside the Male 10's Rugby Tournament in the invitational Female Rugby championship have also confirmed their participation ahead of the draws this week.

The teams are Edo, Delta, Rivers and Lagos State Female Rugby Teams.

Ntiense added that, 'With this kind of unprecedented response to our Championship, it looks like we have our hands full of activities for the 2010 Rugby Season!'